I Like…

Image by Musaed subaie from Pixabay

Caramel corn and crab rangoons.
The smell that comes after rain in the spring.
The feeling of a bonfire on a cold night.
Thunderstorms and cold pillows.
The texture of those really fluffy stuffed animals.
The way I feel after I see my best friend.
Blueberry picking and lemon cakes.
The way pine trees smell.
The feeling of being loved.
Rain after a dry spout and striped shirts.
The warmth of a fire in the wintertime.
The touch of someone who loves me.
Lying in the sun all day and splashing in the waves.
The feeling of no stress at all.
The way her voice sounds.
Touching soft grass and seeing flowers bloom.
The way I can be happy.
The whole world.
Sometimes.

Words from the Author
Olivia Geisthardt

I came up with the concept for this poem while with my good friend Kait Otteman. We had just gotten into her car and I said “I like caramel corn and crab rangoons. Wait! THAT’S gonna be my creative writing piece” and here we are. Though this poem is short, I really like it. It has many deeper meanings than what is directly stated in the poem, most of these things have some sort of positive memory associated with them. Even though it might not make much sense to someone who isn’t me, I am very proud of it.

Revision Decision

Originally every third line of this poem started with the words “I like,” but I decided that I didn’t like the way that looked or felt so I took those phrases out. I also thought about elaborating on the things mentioned, I tried that and did not like the way it sounded and also I felt a little exposed, so I decided to not include that.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar