Moving Too Fast

Image by anncapictures from Pixabay

In my youth,
all I had was time.

I tried to get rid of it
and grow too fast
but, here I am,
the last few weeks of high school.

My last year-and-a-half
taken away by a pandemic.

My dog taken away two years ago
by times use of old age.

Time with my friends taken
by other responsibilities.

Time to decide on colleges
used up and taken too quickly.

Time to learn to drive
taken up so fast by long drives
and an abundance of anxiety.

Time to try a new sport
or join a different club.

No time to change your mind.

All of it, taken and gone.

The time to rebel
or do something reckless
that I could blame on “I’m just a kid.”

Gone in a flash.

I wish I understood sooner
that time refuses to stop.

It keeps going and takes as it pleases.

There’s nothing you can do to stop it
except go for the ride
and do what you can with what time has allowed.

Words From the Author
Savannah Limarenko

There are only a couple weeks left of high school and this last year of high school we have all been in a pandemic. When I wrote this I felt like I had missed out on some things because of the pandemic and maybe I have but that isn’t necessarily bad. This piece allowed me to think about what did happen in my high school experience and the things I wish I had done. I don’t regret anything and want to think about how I can make the most of the future.

Revision Decision

The first major revision I did was change two of the stanzas and join them into one. The original ones were not long enough and they have specifics that I did not want to share publicly. I also changed the beginning of the last stanza to make it flow better. Originally I started abruptly with “time doesn’t stop” but felt that adding “ I wish I understood sooner” made the whole section flow better. There were also a few spots where I decided I wanted to change the general wording. Specifically in “or do something reckless” was changed from “to do something wacky”. Whacky just wasn’t the word I wanted but while writing at once I couldn’t think of the actual word I wanted and reckless fit better.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar