Not Always Bad to be Alone

Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

It’s not always bad to be alone
because I know I don’t sit there like a stone.

I enjoy my life and have fun
just because I’d rather not sit there and be numb.

I really don’t need people
even though some people find me evil.

But
there is one person
that shines my light.

She is one of a kind.

No matter the struggle
she has been there for me
even though she’s not
in my family tree.

She is my best friend.

To all the guys out there
you’re never alone.

Even if a Medusa
turns you into stone,
time heals all wounds.

Might leave the nastiest scars,
but there will be someone
there for you male or female.

Even the most broken people
always have a chance
to fight evil.

It’s not always bad
to be left alone
even if your older,
because there will be one person
who will hug your shoulders.

Words from the Author – Jon Jon Gonzalez

My inspiration is by my best friend and my mom they help me a lot physically and mentally. They were there for me for the good and hard times. They showed me love that not an average person can do. People come and go, but my mom and my best friend came and stayed.

Revision Decision

I reason why somethings rhyme and somethings don’t is because I mainly went for is the people hearts. Yes, rhymes do sounds a lot better and smoother, but sometimes getting into a person heart is just saying something from the heart.

3 thoughts on “Not Always Bad to be Alone

  1. John John,

    Your poem reminded me of how much I appreciate solitude…being alone with my own thoughts. However, having that one person…we don’t need more than that…helps us to reconcile our thoughts and make sense of the world and our place in it.
    I’m so proud of the write you are becoming!
    🙂 Ms.

  2. I truly loved the opening two stanzas and the usage of Medusa. I too enjoy my time of solace in solitude. At the same time, there’s nothing better than being with that special someone, I love 1 on 1 time with a true friend. You’re a very talented writer Jon, it doesn’t surprise me, you’ve always been extremely witty with your one liners and such. You’re such a social butterfly, it’s a little surprising that you would talk about being alone with you being naturally very social. I do understand, we all need time to reflect and seek refuge, tranquility is vital, at the same time, those loyal special friends are forever priceless. Excellent work Jon!

  3. Jon,
    I love your perspective on being alone. Being alone has a stigma attached to it but from your perspective it is not a bad thing. It can actually bring peace and solace to a person. Sometimes we just need that alone time. I agree that we do need to have someone we can connect with whether it be a relative or a friend. Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar