The Boy

Photo by katlove on Pixabay

The boy,
Trapped,
Inside my body
Unable,
Controlled,
Wanting out
Stuck
How can i help the boy
I don’t know
He’s struggling
Thrashing
Hating me for being his trap
His container
Only if we could understand,
We are the boy
Stuck within this body we loathe
The boy,
Trapped,
Inside our body
Unable,
Controlled,
Wanting out.

Words from the Author – Emet Gomez-Scott

This poem was based on my own experiences with being a transgender teen waiting for treatment. It is hard being inside a body you hate, sometimes you even feel like you’re not even yourself.

Revision Decision

I didn’t have to revise very much because the best words are from the heart. I wrote this poem because people often ask me how I feel so I tried to put all of my dysphoria into a poem.

2 thoughts on “The Boy

  1. Emet,

    This poem has moved me since I first read it months ago. Wanting something and being unable to have immediate satisfaction is the connection I am making. Everyone has longed for something that seemed just beyond their grasp. We’ve all felt like imposters…not being our true and authentic selves.

    Thank you for sharing this!

  2. I concur with Mrs. Wirth’s comment. I like how you styled your stanzas… I think we all have internal urges that we find challenging and frustratingly suffocating at times. I appreciate you being honest, open and allowing your true feelings to be expressed. That is an enormous step in the direction of discovering help and calm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar