I’m Still Here

Photo by anaterate on Pixabay

I’m still here.
After the music stops
I am here waiting,
will you return to me?

You left but were taken.
I can’t live without you.
I’ve been waiting not knowing why,
Why did you leave?

When you left did you forget me?
You don’t say hello.
Didn’t even say goodbye.
When can you come home?

Once we were together
now we move far apart.
I gave you my trust.
Why did you break my heart?

I’m still here, right where you left me.
My tears dried, but the puddles still seen in the sand.
Please let me hold your hand.
Can we be like we used to?

We broke the rules
through singing with friends
or laughing with father.
Am I wasting my time? Am I being a bother?

I’m still here, changed, but still the same.
Can we go to the movies?
See places we used to go?
Or did you forget our love from so long ago?

I miss you,
my best friend and the light in the dark.
The darkness is back and you’re not here.
Do you not care? Or should I be like you and disappear.

I’m still here and you don’t care.
When I see you I can’t help but stare.
How have you been? Did you cut your hair?

I hope,
once in awhile,
when you think of me,
you begin to smile.

Know I still love you when I close my eyes.
When I see fireflies I think of you
with that twinkle in your eye
and a flare that lights my fire.

I still miss you.
I’m still here.
Please come home.
Can’t wait till your here.

Words from the Author – Jaxson Warner

 

Revision Decision

One thought on “I’m Still Here

  1. You were clever and consistent with your stanza form, I really enjoyed reading your poem. I too have been completely blindsided, bewildered, baffled and dumbfounded by friends who have suddenly broke up with me, or just vanished, it’s one of the most stunningly confusing and shocking forms of experience. How can someone be so close to you and then just gone… It’s baffling and painful. Usually new true friends emerge and help you mend the pain of those who left.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar