Bullies

Photo by Ilayza on Unsplash

Why do people bully?
To pull down?
To tear apart?
To take power?

Is it because they are jealous?
Of relationships?
Of their looks?
Of their personality?

Or

is it because
they want
attention from people?
To push attention away from themselves?
To mask their insecurities?
To cover self-imposed “flaws”?

Either way,
it’s not right.

I feel sorry for people who just walk around being mean.
Believe me,
I’ve been there!
Just because you don’t like someone,
doesn’t mean you have to bully,
pull down,
tear apart,
take power.

People think it’s funny,
but it’s not.
Respect is what some need.

I know I can be mean,
but I don’t bully.

Words from the Author – McKayla Zeitz

I wrote this prompt because I’m tired of bullies. Bullies deserve to be put in their place. My whole life people have bullied me for the way I look or even the way I laugh. Now that I am older, I just let it go in one ear and out the other. When I was younger I used to talk smack back to people to get revenge. Now I either talk to someone about it or at least try to ignore it. As I am an adult but that isn’t an excuse to bully without being an adult.

Revision Decision

I took the poem about bullies and used repetition with the words “to” and “of” to show why bullies might do what they do. These ideas are complex, because bullies typically are not interested in or do not know how to deal their emotions in healthy ways.

One thought on “Bullies

  1. I’ve been frustrated with bullies my entire life. I think it stems from people being angry and insecure, so they look for ways to put down others to make themselves feel bigger and better… Try to shake them off, stay confident in your own skin, remind yourself that often times, when people are rude or mean, they’re not truly mad at you, but they’re upset about something else and they take it out on others… It’s definitely not fair or nice. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar