Never Will Open My Heart

Image by Lukas_Rychvalsky from Pixabay

 

I lend everyone my ear,
but nobody my heart.

And, I sure would like to change that
but I don’t know where to start.

I smile more to myself
than the world will ever see
because the only time my smile is real
is in my own company.

People don’t know how I feel.
They never even ask.

It seems that I have fooled them all.
They can’t see past my mask.

If they were with me late at night,
when the world was still asleep,
maybe then I’d let them sort
through the secrets that I keep.

But, when I wake at 2am
no one is ever there.

I learned the reason I hide my heart
is because no one really cares.

Words from the Author – Marisela Salvador

This writing means a lot to me because I used to open up to people all the time. After learning that no one actually cared and stayed, I learned that I had to stop opening up my heart to everyone and caring about others that don’t care about me. The only people that I open up to now is my sister and best friend because those are the only two people I can trust with my heart and have never gave up on me.

Revision Decision:
I made sure I punctuated it right. I had others look over it and read it. I wanted to write something that would actually be comparable with my life. After writing many things over and over and thinking about my life I got this.

7 thoughts on “Never Will Open My Heart

  1. Marisela,

    This is so beautiful and personal. You were so brave to open yourself up. I am proud of you and am so happy for you and your upcoming graduation!

    Mrs. Schroeder

  2. I know what it’s like to be open, vulnerable, real and have people abuse that and break your heart. I closed up for a long time… Hopefully in time you can come across people who you can genuinely trust and then those relationships flourish and are enriching and fulfilling. Hang in there, you’re naturally very social and most everyone gravitates to you, you have a a bright personality. One day someone special will connect with you. Nice job completing another semester, you’re getting super close to graduation!

  3. This is very profound to me. You have really done an amazing job using your words to truly identify how you feel. It’s quite beautiful, and I can understand it very well. Keep writing Marisela! You are a very beautiful soul.🥰

  4. As Mr. Gould said, there are people that care! Glad to know you, and I”m always rooting for you. Excellent work here, and it’s easy to tell you’re going to find success in the world.

  5. Beautiful job Marisela! I’m very proud of you and can’t wait to see what is in store for you after graduation!

    Ms. Krell

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar