In My Papa’s Kitchen

Photo by Mae Mu on Unsplash

When it’s time to start cooking,
I’m in the kitchen right away.

I love
cooking and baking.

I love all of it!

Cooking reminds me of
my papa’s kitchen.

Cooking
and learning from him
was the best feeling
I could ever have in the kitchen.

I love the simplicity of seasoning:
salt and pepper
powerful flavors,
powerful memories.

Baking is so much fun!
It’s so crazy and messy.

When I bake
I like to make it fun
I like to be creative

When I get creative
I get messy

And, when I say I get messy
the whole kitchen is dirty
by the time I’m done.

I love the silliness of it:
flour and sugar
simple ingredients
simply amazing.

Word from the Author – Kyli Metcalfe

Some of the best memories I have are with my Papa. He is so important to me because he teaches me not only how to cook, but how to have fun while doing it. I love him for that!

Revision Decision:

This piece started simply as a couple of paragraphs talking about my Papa. I decided to break up the sentences by looking for the moments that meant the most for me and this poem is what came from it!

3 thoughts on “In My Papa’s Kitchen

  1. Good words. Memories hold such value in this chaotic world. Share this out with family and the world.

  2. I’ve read this several times, such a beautiful memory and so well written. It brought me back to the days I baked with my grandma, my favorite memories.❤️

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar