Why I Care

Photo by Lina Trochez on Unsplash

In the absence of hope,
I care.

When someone is down,
I care.

When there is no hope
of someone listening,
I care.

I care
to show there is always
someone there for a person.

I care
when no one
else does.

I care for family.
I care for friends.
I care for you.

When I care — it shows.

I am there to guide someone into hope.

I will always care
even in rough times.

Words from the Author – Haley Wilson

Caring is something that goes further than words. Caring is an action shown towards others. When no one cares you can be the person to care. When you care it gives someone hope. Be the one to stand forward and care for someone.

Revision Decision

I decided to look over my piece to see what was missing. I added repetition for effect and specific groups of people I thought were important. I chose to lead with advice in the first three stanzas and then show how I offer support for others.

3 thoughts on “Why I Care

  1. Excellent poem Haley. With so much stressful anxiety in our world, we need more unity, encouragement, kindness, care and hope now more than ever. Thank you for this wonderful poem.

  2. Hailey,

    Beautiful poem! The world (and everyone in it) definitely needs more kindness and caring. I am thankful that you are spreading that to others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar