Summer’s Day

Submerged in sunlight with
soft, golden skin
we are children of our earth.

Glorious is our earth
under the gentle feet, we tread.
Waters untouched
by the hand of man.

Brought forth by light,
we praise our sun
to sing words graced
by summer’s day.

 

WORDS FROM AUTHOR
Alison Roh

I chose to publish this poem because of how the memories of summer continue to linger in my mind. The simple thought of the sun’s warmth hitting my skin ultimately became the source of inspiration for this poem. I really wanted to embody the common elements that encompass the summer season: sunlight, water, and the greenness of earth. “Summer’s Day” was also influenced and inspired by the language commonly used in biblical hymns.

REVISION DECISION

While I was editing this poem, I wanted to incorporate more alliteration throughout the body to create a more consistent piece. My first draft consisted of choppy sentences, usually containing 2 sentences per stanza. Although the poem is short in terms of length, I think it effectively delivers a message and overall feeling of serenity.

2 thoughts on “Summer’s Day

  1. “Serenity” is the perfect word. As I read, I felt as if I was reciting a prayer to our beautiful natural world. You keep such a consistent, lovely, peaceful and reverent tone. I wish to go outside. May we be “brought forth by light.”

  2. I really enjoy the multiple ways readers can engage with this poem. At first I thought it echoed some early Native American poetry; however, after reading the Words From Author, I revisited the poem to enjoy it for its Biblical tone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar