Perspective

We all have that one person
The one who has twelve different
Alter egos, each as crazy as the last.

Some might be colder than others
Where you can feel their chill
To the bone.

Others warm you inside and out
But can change in a matter of seconds
To gloomy as if the clouds pass
Over the sun in retreat.

There are days when they are endlessly
Losing things, many things, things of color.

Even though they may misplace these
Colorful items they always find a way
To discover them again. As if they bloomed
Out of nowhere.

This person to me is
Michigan.

 

WORDS FROM THE AUTHOR
Clarrissa Klein

I chose this piece for many reasons. It spoke to me about how the weather was for the past week or so when I was writing. It had snowed one day, and then it was 45 degrees out the next. The weather continued to be as insane as it usually is in Michigan. So I decided to capture it in a poem. The other reason that this piece really spoke to me was how I could connect it with my passion for photography. All of the photos shown in this post have been taken by me, and I felt that they add something special to my piece.

REVISION DECISION
One thing that I really worked on to revise this piece as I tried really hard to use words that I found described the four seasons of Michigan but could also be describing something else entirely at the same time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar