Spilt Paint

She grabbed the paint, the brush, and the chair.
She sat down in a quiet room filled with dust.
As she lifted her hand, the paint fell.

It fell on her, and her past. Which made new paths.
As it spread, there were bright days, and dark.

It covered bad spots and made new pearly whites.
Although, she still remembered what was under the wet media.

She got through it, still able to breathe.
She didn’t need you anymore. But you were still there to taunt her.

The paint glided on the dark lines, making it better.
She was happy for once since the paint made it better.

Art is not just a shield, it was her love as well. It was her life, and even as much as her.
Though you gave up, she still was able to light a fire,
a fire she had been on the search for since she’s been with you.

So thanks to you, the paint spilled and spread.
Thanks to you, it covered the old art on her wall.

And thanks to you,
she was able to shine and
light that fire for the first time ever.

WORDS FROM THE AUTHOR
Cory Gaskill

As art is a big part of my life, I thought about writing about it to make things easier. Writing about something you love makes you more likely to do better. So I incorporated art into something I had going on at some time. For me, writing hasn’t been a big thing, but I felt like I did a pretty good job on this piece, even if it is everywhere. As an artist, I know I always tend to let art distract me when I can. I like the way it keeps me zoned out, and focused on that one thing rather than something that’s been on my mind.

REVISION DECISION

I know I’m not the only one who’s noticed this, but every other artist feels like they do better making at when feeling in a down mood. The best thing about doing that though is that you’re pouring out all your emotions onto a canvas and no one can stop you. As the author, I added the sentence “a fire she had been on the search for since she’s been with you.” to the ‘ she still was able to light the fire…”. I added this because I felt like it would’ve added more emotion to the reader, and you would be able to feel what I wanted the reader to feel empathy. I also felt like the story of it needed a little more just to spice it up, and I think t adds good flavor to the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar