Fragile Yet Strong

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Rocks along the shore,
in orderly chaos,
but yet so still.
They line in layers
made to withstand,
made to behold,
and yet can be toppled
ever so easily.
Like an empire.
Like our motivation.
Only to be put back together
and last for us all.

Words from the Author
Lauren Rupe

I got the inspiration for this poem from a prompt shown to our class a few months ago. We were shown a picture of a rock tower and asked to write about it. The picture reminded me of biking around Mackinac Island every summer and seeing rocks stacked up all along the shore. I was always fascinated with them and the fact that a person was connected to each and every one of them. People are always building and rebuilding them to make their beauty last.

Revision Decision

When looking through my notebook I stumbled across my poem for this prompt. I enjoyed the concept, but I ended up scratching my first piece and wrote a new one. When writing this poem I added different metaphors to symbolize the strong yet delicate structure these towers have.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar