without u.

 

Photo by Azhar on Unsplash

Met her outside the diner,
cigarette in her hand,
she asked, “Do you smoke?”
I said, “Only on weekends.
It’s bad for you, dear.”

Too bad you don’t care.

She asked, “Won’t you come back tonight
and stay the night?
I swear I don’t bite.”

They say that love is like a drug,
but I’d rather get high in my room
than play games with u.

She said, “Sorry for the mess.”
I said, “It’s fine, I don’t mind
as long as I can rest.”
She said, “Well, that’s good.”
and began to undress,
move in close,
I breathe fast,
“Wanna make you mine.”

They say that love is like a drug,
but I’d rather get high in my room
than play games with u.

They say that love is like a drug,
but I’d rather get high in my room
than play games with u.

They say that love is like a drug,
but I’d rather get high in my room
than waste my time on u.

They say that love is like a drug,
but I’d rather get high in my room
without u.

Words from the Author
Rahim Elgammal

When you first listen to this song you might find it to be very personal, when in fact it’s not at all. It’s a completely fictional story that I wrote a song about two months ago. Usually, when I write a song it has some personal story behind it or something, but this one did not. It wasn’t the first time that I had written a song this way, but it’s definitely one of my favorites. I haven’t written any songs since this one and I’m not sure if I’m in writer’s block or if I’m lazy or whatever.

Revision Decision

The day after I uploaded this song I decided I’d share it with Mr. Schoenborn because it’s basically just a creative writing story I turned into a song. He told me I could use it for a blog post if I’d like and I thought that was a great idea.

During the writing process, I usually don’t change much of the lyrics I try to just get through it all and change things at the end. I didn’t have to change much, just the arrangement of things and stuff like that. Usually, I record songs with my good friend Sam at his house and upload them to SoundCloud but, for this song, I just thought it would sound good in my hallway and just pretty plain overall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar