Ghost

Image Credit: Emma Russell

I don’t think I believe in ghosts
But I don’t want to say it for certain
Because if there is a single possibility
That the spirit lingers longer than the body
I think I would be happy

I like to imagine
The small hands of a child
Resting on a tired mothers arm
Feeling the chill of death
Without the dread that she travels with

Little feet
Running on unfamiliar carpet
Finding comfort
In his sisters empty company
And the flowers they left for him

I like to believe
That maybe this world is not as unkind
As it makes itself look

That the chill I feel
That crawls up my spine
Is them telling me
“Its okay that you’ve forgotten.
We were both so young”

That they sit and listen
To the poems and songs
I wrote for us
Feeling just as alive in this home
As I am

That maybe
Ghosts are not trapped souls
Longing for an end
But gentle people
Who were given the time they longed for
Who have finally found the opportunity
To feel a living warmth
And the tenderness of a mourners love

Words from the Author
Emma Russell

I wrote this poem about how I see ghosts. I don’t really believe in them, at least not in the reality tv show, ripping through walls, possessing people kind of a way. I think that if ghosts did exist they would be kind. Maybe there would be the occasional wrathful spirit, but just like in real life I think the majority of ghosts ought to be plain and gentle and lonely. I find a little bit of comfort when I think of ghosts like that. I like the idea of the people I’ve loved staying behind for me and the people they’ve loved. Watching and loving and waiting. I like to think about the possibility of things continuing on, that the end isn’t really that important.

Revision Decision

One thing that I thought through was how vague I should make the descriptions of the ghosts and the people they are hanging out with. I considered making them feel vague, not having pronouns or names but then the poem didn’t feel as personal as I wanted it to. That is why I decided to make it more descriptive, talking about mothers and children and the impact they had. I also made it a little bit personal to me. I think that this way anyone can still understand if they have lost someone, but the poem still feels sweeter and more personal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar